Corresponding Author

Chang-jian Lin(cjlin@xmu.edu.cn),;
Shi-gang Sun(sgsun@xmu.edu.cn)


Year 2018 marks the 30th anniversary of the foundation of the Chinese Society of Electrochemistry. The past 30 years have witnessed enormous achievements of the science and technology in electrochemistry in China. The international academic communications become more and more frequent while the research quality ranks in the worldwide forefront, which make China plays more and more important roles in the international community of electrochemistry. With the stern support of domestic researchers and international colleagues, the Chinese professional academic journal,Journal of electrochemistry, has kept growing up and becoming one of the top journals in the science and technology of China.   
The 19th Chinese National Conference of Electrochemistry was held in Shanghai in 2017. Surrounding the fundamentals, applications and frontiers in the development of electrochemical science and technology, the Conference presented the newest progresses and achievements, discussed in depth on the opportunities, challenges and prospects of electrochemistry, and enhanced the scientific collaborations as well as the technical transformations. It is believed that the every-two-year National Conference will push forwards the development and progress of electrochemistry in Chinese.   
Series awards were granted in the 19th National Conference of Electrochemistry. The Outstanding Achievement Award was awarded to Prof. Er-kang Wang from Changchun Institute of Applied Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences, for his solid achievements and contributions to electrochemistry science. The Electrochemistry Contribution Award were awarded to Prof. Yong Yang from Xiamen University and Prof. Hua-Min Zhang from Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics. The Electrochemistry Award for Young Scientists were winned by Prof. Yong-Gang Wang from Fudan University, Prof. Xiao-Qing Huang from Soochow University, Shao-Jun Guo from Peking University, and Prof. Jin-Song Hu from Institute of Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences.   
To encourage and support Chinese scholars, especially the young researchers, to publish their high-quality papers in Journal of Electrochemistry, and to promote the quality of the academic journal of our own, Prof. Zhao-Wu Tian, the member of Chinese Science Academy as well as the Honorary Editor-in-Chief, proposed to set up the “Excellent Paper Awards” of Journal of Electrochemistry. This time the Excellent Paper Awards were delivered to Prof. Zi-Dong Wei from Chongqing University, Prof. Bing-Wei Mao from Xiamen University, Prof. Lin Zhuang from Wuhan University, Prof. Xing-Xing Chen from University of Science and Technology Liaoning, and Prof. Zhan-Ao Tan from North China Electric Power University.
To promote the academic exchange and to improve the journal quality, the editorial office invited eight award winners to contribute their newest research work to this special issue of Journal of Electrochemistry. We believe it reflects the representative progresses of electrochemistry in energy, environment and material domains. We wish the publication of the special issue would present the extensive readers the state-of-art, prospects as well as the scientific problems and challenges, can promote the academic effect of the Journal of Electrochemistry, and would push forwards the development of electrochemical science and technology in China.
Here I would like to thank the authors, the reviewers and the editors for their hard work and selfless contributions! I would also like to say thanks to the extensive electrochemical researchers for your persistent supports to Journal of Electrochemistry!

Publication Date


Online Available Date




To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.